Friday

16 June, 2017


10:30

Join us for storytime in the library. No need to book! Just come along!

(Please note that children must be accompanied by an adult.)

 

Price: FREE

A citizen of somewhere?

The Secret Garden

11:30

David Goodhart’s new book The Road to Somewhere has taken the UK by storm. In it he explains the huge political changes that we see from the point of view of two conflicting tribes that have emerged in the Western world. The first are citizens of anywhere – a detached, mobile, cosmopolitan elite, who have lost contact with the citizens of somewhere – their more grounded, local and threatened fellow countrymen.

The tribal division is pretty clear. On the one side stands the liberal Europhile establishment, comfortable about immigration and globalisation, and on the other are those who are anything but comfortable, who feel left out and left behind.

This is a must see if you are interested in the society around you. How soon before such division manifests itself here too? And what might that look like? Don’t miss David Goodhart.

In conversation with David McWilliams.

Price: €10.00

Book Now


13:00

What is going on in the Korean peninsula? While North Korea threatens nuclear strikes and South Korea’s president is jailed on corruption charges, what do we know about this part of the world? North Korea may be cut off but South Korea is little understood. It is the world’s 11th largest economy – bigger than Russia or Spain – and is of huge strategic significance – but what do we know about it? There has never been a more urgent need for outsiders to grasp what is going on in what used to be called “the hermit kingdom”.

This is a rare opportunity to hear Korean experts in Dublin. Hyeonseo Lee, North Korean defector, Han Yujoo from South Korea and Michael Breen, author of The Koreans, who has lived in Korea since 1982, will be in conversation with Kelly Falconer.

Price: €10.00

Book Now


13:00

Dalkey Education Centre, St John Of God, Dublin South East  presents ‘Humans of Dalkey: More than’, a photographic exhibition telling their stories as well as the stories of everyday people in the Dalkey community. We all have stories to tell and this amazing group of individuals who attend this local education centre will showcase just some of their  achievements: graduating from Trinity and UCD, making valid contributions to organisations and the work force, sitting on a DLR Co Council committee and  advocating on behalf of the community to name just a few.  They have also invited other members of the Dalkey community to tell their stories. This event aims to shock, surprise and challenge people’s perceptions on how they see others and showcase ability above disability, age and appearance with a focus on how everyone can contribute to society.

Price: FREE


14:30

After last year’s 1916 commemorations, this year marks the centenary of the Big One – the Bolshevik Revolution.

Neil Faulkner, author of A People’s History of the Russian Revolution, and Patrick Geoghan, TCD professor, examine the myths around the Russian and  Irish revolutions and look at the way both involved an explosion of democracy and creativity and both were crushed by bloody counter-revolution.

In conversation with Jana Bakunina.

Price: €10.00

Book Now


16:00

Hyeonseo Lee is one of the very few who have risked their life to escape North Korea which she did when only a teenager. A powerful speaker, she is also a writer and an activist fostering human rights and awareness of the plight of North Koreans. Her TED talk has been viewed nearly 4 million times.

There is nothing like hearing personal testimony. We urge you not to miss this. We’ve flown her from Seoul to be with us. It will be a very special event.

In conversation with Michael Breen, author of The Koreans.

Price: €12.00

Book Now


17:30

A treat for movie and book lovers this. Not much to say here except three fantastic directors talking books. Lenny Abrahamson, Bruce Robinson of Withnail and I  and Neil Jordan in conversation with Nadine O’Regan.

Price: €12.00

Book Now

Orlagh Collins: No Filter

Heritage Centre

18:00

No Filter is a fresh, funny and poignant debut novel by Orlagh Collins, a bright new voice in YA fiction.

Authentic, down to earth and sweepingly romantic all at once, No Filter is perfect for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell and Stephen Chbosky’s The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

The reading will be followed by a reception hosted by Bloomsbury Publishing.

 

FREE

Colm Toibin – SOLD OUT

Seafront Marquee

19:00

Dalkey’s waited years to host Colm and now he’s here. One of Ireland’s most brilliant writers, he is a prolific essayist and a caustic commentator. Colm Toibin will talk about his latest novel House of Names, his screen writing debut and life for the artist in his adopted home, the US.  In conversation with Miriam O’Callaghan.

Price: €15.00

Book Now


19:00

Can good satire achieve anything? Is the impact it has on audiences underestimated, and what are the risks taken by its creators?

Take a journey into the power of satire and the impact of the law on its creation with some of Ireland’s greatest satirical writers and performers.

Having a laugh about the serious side of a slagging off are Blindboyboatclub of Rubberbandits, Paul Howard, creator of Ross O’Carroll Kelly and author of ANGLO: The Musical, Andrea Martin of MediaLawyer and Colm Williamson, the founder and writer of the massively popular Waterford Whispers News, the number one destination for Irish satire fans.  Chaired by Fiona Looney, award-winning playwright, columnist, and comedy writer.
Presented by Kite Entertainment

Price: €15.00

Book Now

Withnail and I

The Secret Garden

19:00

It’s 30 years since the cult classic movie Withnail and I was released. Dave Fanning chats to writer and director Bruce Robinson about making the movie, its cult status, enduring appeal and writing some of the most memorable movie lines ever……‘We demand to have more booze’.

Price: €15.00

Book now


20:30

Can music change the world? Singer songwriter Billy Bragg has been an activist for nearly 30 years, inspiring people with his political songwriting. Dave Randall is a musician, producer and author of the wonderful Sound System: The Political Power of Music. With Roisin Dwyer of Hot Press, they will explore the power of music, how it has been used to keep people in their place and whether music can be a force for social change.

Price: €15.00

Book Now


20:30

Islam and feminism? Is there a contradiction? Or is that a knee jerk reaction, seeing Muslim women as a monolithic bloc who need to be liberated from the tyranny of the headscarf, who is in some countries are not allowed to drive, are subjected to mutilation and generally are oppressed? Is the reality much more complex?

With Elif Shafak, Yassmin Abdel-Magied, Mehreen Khan and Ayisha Malik.

Price: €10.00

Book Now

Midnight Poe – SOLD OUT

Saint Patrick's Church

23:45

A beautiful, chilling theatrical staple of the festivalMidnight Poe, presented by Bewley’s Café Theatre, is back ! Featuring one of Edgar Allen Poe’s best-known stories, The Cask of Amontillado, a pitch black comedy of revenge, the performance will be accompanied by his spine- tingling, unfinished, final tale The Lighthouse staged alongside musical settings of some of his greatest poems. This special experience in the gothic surroundings of Saint Patrick’s Church will take the audience on a deliciously dark descent into the maelstrom of one of literature’s most frenzied imaginations.

Price: €15.00

Book Now